Holy crap…I'm living in Mongolia!

around town

The Vegetable Ladies. My site mate April introduced me to these women, and I get my eggs and produce from them every weekend. During my first visit, the woman in purple told me she already knew who I was - that her daughter had called from school to say she had a new American English teacher, and that we'd had our picture taken together. But I still couldn't get her to look at the camera.

Changing it up a little with this post. Instead of  my usual thousand or fifteen-hundred words, I thought I’d try to take you on a virtual tour of Bayankhongor, the town where I live. One of the many things I’ve been reminded of here in Mongolia is just how quickly the brain adapts to new environments. In the span of no more than a few months, many of the sights of this place have become commonplace, even ordinary, to me. Horses sleeping standing up outside the gates of the police station? Seen ’em.  Whole sheep hanging up at the meat market, with tufts of wool still on the tail? What else is new?

On the one hand, this ability of the brain to adapt has been a great thing; it’s allowed me to settle into life here, get into a groove, and feel like I’m living a normal life. On the other hand, it scares me to think that after such a short period of time, I might already be falling into the trap of taking many of my experiences for granted.

So although I’m far from the world’s greatest photographer, for the past two weekends I’ve decided to venture out and take photos of the places I pass by every day on my walk to and from school. It took just a few hours altogether, but it was so satisfying to really look. It not only forced me to refresh my vision, but also helped me discover new things about this strange and beautiful place that I hadn’t noticed before.

It was great fun, and I hope you enjoy the results. I’d also love to know what you see in the pictures—things you notice that I may very well have missed, or questions the photos raise for you. If you feel so inclined, please share in the comments.

Click any of the images below to start the slideshow:

 

2 Responses to “around town”

  1. Joanna Fuller

    Hi Stephanie! I didn’t see a comment on the last blog post, but I did on Facebook. 🙂 That said, I’m having some technology challenges currently so am only getting online a little bit each day from school. As soon as I’m back up 100% (waiting for a power cord to arrive from the States and for my modem to get fixed in UB), I hope to be posting again. Stay tuned and talk soon!

    Reply
  2. Stephanie Heier

    Great photos, Joanna. Nice to get the tour around town and to be able to visualize better where you hang out these days. Let me know if you are seeing these posts. I posted a comment on your last blog but not sure if it showed up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

